Rachel Allen’s infamous Carrot Cake

Cream cheesy, carroty goodness

Cream cheesy, carroty goodness

So my blog has been rather quiet of late, and I apologise for that. But I have a good excuse I promise! I finally got myself a job. YAY ME! So I am no longer classed as an unemployed adult and I can finally start putting money into my account, rather than just spending the very little I have left. I now work for a lovely family who run a fabulous catering company. The best thing is that they literally live up the road from me. So when I have to be in work for six (like today…(yawn)) I can literally roll out of bed. Win win. In fact I’ve had such a fun filled and exciting week on the job that I’m going to write a post all about it (it is food orientated don’t worry)!

Now. Back to all things cake.

After a rather long and exhausting week at work I finally had a day off. Although I took advantage of being able to lie in past 6.30, I did find myself a little lost, twiddling my thumbs, and generally mopping around feeling rather bored. So I needed a cake related distraction; something comforting, scrummy, and easy to make. So, naturally, I headed to my Rachel Allen ‘CAKE’ recipe book, and the pages gracefully opened at her delightful ‘Carrot Cake’. Moist, rich in flavour, basically one of your five-a-day; an absolute classic go to recipe. I’ve made quite a lot of carrot cake over the years, using a number of different recipes, and this one is definitely my favourite. I slightly adapted the recipe according to my liking; I added more nuts, ground ginger, ginger conserve (just because I couldn’t find preserved stem ginger- but it works just as well), and I used light muscovado sugar rather than light brown as I like its molassesy flavour. I also used mascarpone cheese for the frosting, and made lots more than is indicated in the recipe. Lots more. Because, frankly, its just too good!!! 

EAT ME

EAT ME

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml sunflower oil or vegetable oil
  • 200g of brown sugar
  • 300g of peeled and grated carrots
  • 75g chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • pinch of salt
  • For the icing:
    • 100g cream cheese
    • Finely grated zest of 1 orange
    • 200g icing sugar

 

METHOD:

  • Preppin'

    Preppin’

    Preheat the oven to 150 and line the cake tin with baking parchment, allowing a little paper to rise above the edges enabling the cake to lifted out gently.

  • Whisk the eggs in a large bowl, and then add in the oil, sugar, grated carrots and chopped nuts. At this point I then mixed in a couple of tablespoons of ginger conserve. Then sift in the dry ingredients and combine with a wooden spoon.
  • Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for 1 hour (possibly 1 hour and 15 minutes), or until a clean cake skewer can be removed from the centre. Allow to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before removing to completely cool on a wire rack.
  • While the cake is cooling beat together the frosting ingredients. Once combined smother the cake generously using a palette night. Eat with a cuppa, or as an after dinner treat.
The Irish goddess herself...

The Irish goddess herself…

