The Wedding of the Century

Davina and David

Davina and David

So, in my last post I briefly mentioned that I had got myself a job. It’s true!! I am now free from the constant dread and worry of unemployment. I must admit, it isn’t exactly a graduate job, in fact I’m somewhat overqualified. But saying that, I’m incredibly happy to finally have money coming into my account, rather than simply trickling out of it. So I sent an email to Davina Lovegreen a few weeks ago, enquiring into whether she needed an extra hand (a.k.a begging for a job), and a few hours later I’d received a text and I was sending over my CV. The next day I’d had a 20 minute phone call with Davina and I was invited to her home, which – rather coincidentally – is literally up the road from my house. And so I was very quickly employed as a member of the Lovegreen team.

At first I thought the job would simply be a great way to get out of debt; I never thought I’d learn so much, or meet so many interesting people. The first major event on the job was a huge wedding, and I mean HUGE. It was literally the wedding of the century. Well…at least in North Yorkshire. It was the biggest wedding Davina had ever catered for, serving canapes, dinner, desert, cheese, drinks, etc. etc. to 290 guests. It was also the most lavish and extravagant anyone had ever seen. I now have incredibly high expectations for my wedding. Oh, I fear for my future husband. What a bridezilla I will be…

Steph Moon

Steph Moon

Throughout the week I had the pleasure to work along side some amazing chefs. Jilly Robinson is basically Rosemary Shrager’s personal assistant, and she also works at Malton Cookery School. Nathan Kilcoyne is the senior chef de partie at The Talbot, the restaurant in Malton which is ran and overseen by James Martin . And lastly, I got to work directly with Steph Moon. Steph, a Yorkshire born lass like myself, has worked all over the world; in central London’s ‘The Dorcester’, as well restaurants in Switzerland, Germany, and Australia. You may have also seen her representing the North East in 2011 on BBC2’s ‘Great British Menu’. After working as an executive head chef for eight years Steph started her own consultancy business; so that is the tale of how one of the North East’s best chefs ended up in Catterick Village, working in Davina Lovegreen’s commercial kitchen.

Kitchen team

Kitchen team

I basically acted as Steph’s wing woman for three days; I was at her beck and call to cater to her culinary needs. And it was an absolute pleasure. At first I was slightly terrified. I thought she’d be really intimidating, but she was such a laugh. A bit of a nutter if I’m honest, but an incredible chef. And an incredible teacher. She went out of her way to teach me techniques and talk me through recipes etc. She even called me ‘Chef’, which was hilarious, and frankly, amazing!!! I felt like a proper little cook! But what topped all this were Steph’s compliments to me; I was so happy to hear that she enjoyed working with me and thought that I had great potential. In fact, she even said (and I quote!!) ‘You should seriously think about a career in catering’. To hear that come out of anyone’s mouth is a pleasure, never mind Ms. Moons!!! Heck! I nearly swooned.

I have a feeling there will be some more incredible opportunities coming my way with this job…

