Raspberry, Lemon and Coconut Cake

Yes. My cake is on a pizza plate...

Yes. My cake is on a pizza plate…

I’m heading to Sheffield this weekend to visit my sister; we decided to organise a weekend between our birthdays so that we could come together, meet with my other sister, and have a combined celebration. Yes (if you can recall my macaron post), my birthday has been, so sadly there will be no more boxes of macarons, champagne or hampers for me. However, there will be dog walking with my sisters incredibly excitable boxer puppy, Betty, there will be muddy fields, cups of tea in quaint cafes, wind-ragged hair and flushed cheeks, and it’s likely that there will be birthday dinner. In my opinion no birthday weekend is complete without the presence of cake. So, although Ash’s birthday isn’t until the 18th, I thought I’d make her a little early birthday treat, as it’s unlikely that I’ll see her closer to the big day. Normally I make her macarons, but to be honest (and I hate to admit it) I’m somewhat macaroned out!! So instead I rustled up a delicious Raspberyy, Lemon and Coconut cake. I love lemon cake, it has to be one of my many favourites, and I find that the addition of raspberries gives it that extra fruity punch. Finally, I added dessicated coconut to give a bit if texture to the cake- and because I don’t think you can beat the combination of zesty fruit and creamy coconut. Yummerrss!!! Now I’ll admit that I made an error; I used one large tin to cook the cake. The end result, and to my disappointment, was therefore a very large but rather short cake. So I would recommend splitting the mixture into two tins. I also feel like the shortness of the cake had something to do with the dense ingredients (coconut and raspberry), so next time I will add an extra teaspoon of baking powder, to make three teaspoons as indicated in the recipe. When the cake cooled I filled it with a layer of shop bought lemon curd and topped it with a light lemony cream cheese icing, sprinkled over some toasted coconut and decorated with a few bright and beautiful raspberries. Doesn’t it look pretty?

Look at those beauties!!

Look at those beauties!!

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 225g of unsalted butter, softened
  • 225g of caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • Grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 200g plain flour
  • 3 tsp of baking powder
  • 25g of dessicated coconut
  • 150g of fresh (or frozen and defrosted) raspberries
  • 2 tbsp of lemon curd
    • Icing:
    • 350g of mascarpone cheese
    • 200g of icing sugar
    • Grated zest of 1 lemon
    • Juice of half a lemon
    • 2 tbsp of dessicated coconut
    • a handful of raspberries

 

 

 

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven at 180. Grease the baking tins and line with a piece of baking parchment.
  • Cream the softened butter in a bowl until smooth, then add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Gradually add the beaten eggs to this mixture, a little at a time so that it doesn’t split or curdle.
  • Add the sieved flour and baking powder, lemon zest, and coconut into the wet mixture. Finally gently combine the fresh raspberries into the cake batter.
  • Divide the mixture into your two tins and bake in the oven for 15-2o minutes, or until golden and a clean cake skewer can be removed from the centre. Remove from the oven and leave to cool for 5 minutes in the tin before leaving the sponge to cool completely on a wire rack.
  • While the sponge cools combine the mascarpone, icing sugar and lemon juice and zest in a bowl. Spread the dessicated coconut onto a tray and toast under the grill- watch it as it will turn golden very quickly. Fill the two cakes with the lemon curd, spreading it evenly. And finally coat the sponge with a layer of zingy cream cheese frosting. To finish, decorate with the toasted coconut and fresh raspberries. ENJOY!

 

2014-11-07 18.59.58

