Rye Banana Pancakes

Check out my short stack

Check out my short stack

So I had a killer shift at work yesterday. My alarm was set for 4.30am and I didn’t get home until 5pm. Although the early start was slightly horrific I had such a fun day, and it was so very satisfying to come home utterly exhausted knowing I have the following day off work. Yipeeee. So this morning I slept until the glaring light seeping through my curtains woke me up. I had a lazy ride up the field on the horse and came home with a rumble in my tum.

Recently my Instagram newsfeed has been full of breakfast and brunch ideas; delicious hot winter porridges, decadent baked eggs, smoothie bowls, sweet breads. I have been itching to channel some of these inspiring recipes into my own breakfasts. And of course, what better day to do that than on your day off!! So this morning was a day for pancakes. I’d seen a lot of pancake posts of late, and I think the inception worked magic on my unconscious, as all I’ve been thinking about is eating them.

I’ve also noticed that there is a lot of buckwheat pancakes on the scene at the minute, but its not something that I have in my cupboard, nor is it something I’ve cooked with before. So instead I used half a cup of plain flour and half a cup of rye flour. I love using rye, I think its really versatile and really flavourful, perfect to snazz up some plain ole pancakes. I also chucked in a mashed up, over ripe banana, for some natural sweetness. You can even make this recipe super slim line by using fats like coconut or canola oil, and by substituting the milk for soy or almond milk. But, after a few exhausting shifts at work, I welcomed the butter. Come at me!! When it came to frying I used a tiny drizzle of vegetable oil in the pan, as I find that butter burns quite easily. I like my pancakes golden, not dark brown/verging black.

2014-11-13 12.42.34

 

 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup of plain flour
  • 1/2 cup of rye flour
  • 2 tbsp of dark brown sugar
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 2 tbsp of melted butter
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
    • Greek yoghurt
    • Runny honey

 

 

METHOD:

  • Begin by mixing all the dry ingredients in a bowl; the flours, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Make sure everything is fully combined.
  • In a separate bowl whisk the egg, milk, butter, mashed banana and vanilla essence.
  • Make a well in the bowl of dry ingredients and then pour in the wet mixture. Whisk until the batter is fully combined.
  • Put a frying pan on a medium heat, and add a little vegetable oil. Use a ladel or a tablespoon to pour the mixture into the pan. Let the mixture flatten out and then cook the pancake for about a minute, or until bubbles begin to appear. Then flip. Cook again on the other side before serving.
  • Stack on a plate and smother with greek yoghurt and honey. Then indulge…
Breakfast for winners.

Breakfast for winners.

Delish!

Delish!

 

