Courgette, Mint and Feta Salad

IMG_20150114_155613

Looking pretty legit…

I decided, rather belatedly, that I would make myself a New Year’s resolution. I know it kinda doesn’t count when you decide to take it seriously in the middle of January, but I do not care for the etiquette of resolution-making. If I want to make a change to my life, whatever month of the year it may be, then I will ruddy-well do so. Both aspects of my resolution are grounded in this very blog; I plan to take my food whitterings and snack-shots a lot more seriously. I’m thinking of buying myself a snazzy new camera, and I am already scouring through ebay for useful props and plates to style up my shots some more. The other aspect of my resolution is to include a lot more fruit and vegetables in my diet. I am not the kind of person to go on a dieting regime; I have very little will power when it comes to food, thus all diets are doomed to end in failure. So rather than cutting out gluten, or meat, or sugar, I am just choosing to eat healthier. I don’t think I will find this hugely difficult, as I generally love vegetables in whatever form they come in, but I do want to be more experimental and inventive with my recipes. Since receiving Ottolenghi’s Plenty More I have decided to join in on the vegetable renaissance. I’ve even managed to encourage my mother into embracing our granddad’s walled-garden for some organic veg growing.

In embracing my new resolution, I decided to hop on the band wagon of one of this year’s biggest food trends. Yes. I’ve done it; I’ve bought myself a compact, hand-held spiralizer. I know for a fact that some of my friends will be shaking their heads and mocking me right about now; particularly one friend whose love for cream and butter is unconditional (you know who you are!!!). But screw it, there is no shame in loving vegetables. And there is certainly no shame in the use of an incredibly practical and efficient kitchen gadget. My little Amazon package arrived, and inside I found a very petite black box, with the slogan ‘all times finest’ decorating the top. The gadget, curvaceous like a little hour glass, boasts two blades; one for the classic noodle cut and another to create ribbons. The box also included two mini bristled brushes for cleaning, two soft lids to cover each end, and another circular part used to hold the vegetable in place. All for the bargan sale price of £4.98. Winner!! The next step was to test it out…

Ribbons of deliciousness...

Ribbons of deliciousness…

INGREDIENTS:

Serves 4

  • 2-3 large courgettes
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1-2 tbsp of olive oil
  • small handful of mint leaves, chopped
  • 100g feta
  • salt and pepper

METHOD:

  • Using a spiralizer, cut the courgettes into ribbons or noodles.
  • In a large mixing bowl toss the courgette ribbons in the lemon juice and olive oil. Then add the chopped mint leaves, and crumble in the feta. Season with salt and pepper, and then toss the mixture again.

I served the salad alongside a piece of breaded chicken, and some cannelini bean dip. It brought back memories of late summer…

