Spiralized Stir Fry with Prawn and Mushroom

Pretty little twirls

Pretty little twirls

Since receiving my spiralizer in the post I’ve been like an excited kid with a new toy. Showing it off to my boss, family and friends, finding excuses (not that I need any when it comes to food!) to transform my veggies into dainty little noodles and ribbons. I can’t believe how much it actually transforms the vegetables; I don’t feel like I’m eating masses of carrot or courgette, the texture changes, the flavour changes and, for a while, you kind of forget what you’re eating.

Buying a spiralizer has also opened me up to a new world of bloggers, Instagram accounts and a plethora of recipes dedicated to the nifty little tool. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers using courgetti as the perfect alternate to noodles and pasta. The Helmsley sisters have certainly had an influence in this trend with spiralized recipes featured in their recently published cook book, The Art of Eating Well. The positive response to the trend, by vegan, gluten-free, and nutritional bloggers alike, has kick-started a new wave and wealth of recipes- all of which are at our finger tips!!

I am not a celiac, nor am I vegan, or vegetarian for that matter. But that does not prevent me from experimenting with recipes that are gluten free and meat free etc etc. I know that some people choose to live off a gluten free diet due to medical reasons, and others merely do so for nutritional reasons. I don’t know what I would do if I had to give up gluten- obviously I would just, you know, give it up- but it would make me very sad. I just love bread, so much. There’s just nothing more satisfying than cutting into a freshly baked loaf; crusty, warm, seeded. I also couldn’t bear the thought of living without pasta, especially now that I have an actual pasta machine and can make the fresh stuff whenever I ruddy feel like it. However, despite this unconditional love for all things gluten-ous, I thought I’d try out a recipe using veggie noodles, just to see how much I’d really miss the feel egg ones.

I decided to whip up a stir fry, a healthy and flavoursome meal; a.k.a my go-to dinner when I can’t really be bothered to cook. It turns out I didn’t miss the egg noodles at all. I mean, I still love noodles, but the courgette and carrot noodles were not as unsatisfying as I thought they might be. In fact, I finished the meal feeling rather refreshed and somewhat impressed with the humble carrot and courgette. High-five for the vegetable renaissance!

Tucked up in bed with my bowl...

Tucked up in bed with my bowl…

 

INGREDIENTS:

Serves 1

  • 1 medium courgette
  • 1 medium carrot
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1-2 tbsp of oil (sunflower, olive, coconut- whichever you prefer)
  • 1 large field mushroom
  • 1/2 tbsp of water
  • 2-3 tbsp of light soy sauce
  • 100g prawn (cooked, or uncooked- whichever you prefer)
  • 1-2 tsp of dried chilli
  • splash of sesame oil

 

 

 

METHOD:

  • Begin by spiralizing the carrot and courgette, then set aside until needed.
  • Place a wok on a high heat and fry the crushed garlic and mushrooms in the oil. The mushrooms will instantly soak up the oil, so I ended a little splash of water to encourage them to steam.
  • When the mushrooms have softened throw in the carrot and courgette noodles. They literally take minutes to cook, so add in the prawns, soy sauce and chilli flakes.
  • Once the noodles have softened slightly take the pan off the heat, add a splash of sesame oil and serve up for a speedy, guilt-free bowl of deliciousness.

IMG_20150116_184046

