High-Fibre Blueberry Breakfast Muffins

Breakfast is the best!

Breakfast is the best!

If you’ve read my previous post then you will know that I recently tried one of Pret A Manger’s breakfast muffins. Of course it was delicious- everything from Pret is! But I had a little brain wave; it was so yummy, and wholesome, and convenient, that I knew I needed to bake some myself. I envisioned how perfect they’d be for those rushed, early mornings (I’m talking like 5am starts) where I don’t have time to eat before work.The best thing about these muffins is they are the kind of food that you can grab and go and eat on the road, but they are also nutritious, high in fibre (you might have guessed that from the title) and low in calories and fat. I based my muffins on a recipe from BBC Good Food, however, I swapped and changed a few ingredients to match up with what I had in my cupboard. Instead of using rapeseed oil, I opted for coconut oil, and rather than using natural yoghurt, I used greek-style (I’m not bothered about the few extra grams of fat). I also threw in a handful of milled linseed and extra spice to the mix. What I loved about these little breakfasts buns was that they weren’t overly sweet; only natural sugar from fruit is used and I also think the yoghurt helps balance the flavours. But with each mouthful is a burst of flavour from the added blueberries. What is there not to like about them?

I will admit that I made the mistake of under-filling the muffin cases; by using wholemeal flour the mixture doesn’t rise quite as much, so instead of making 12 big buns I made 18 slightly smaller ones. So make sure you split the mixture equally between 12 muffin cases. Happy days!!

The perfect healthy snack

The perfect healthy snack

INGREDIENTS:

makes 12 muffins

  • 2 eggs
  • 150ml of greek yoghurt
  • 50ml of coconut oil
  • 100g apple puree (or sauce)
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 200g wholemeal flour
  • 50g oats, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp bicarbonated soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tbsp milled linseed
  • 100g blueberries
  • a large handful of mixed seeds
  • muffin cases

 

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven to 180c/160c fan/gas mark 4. Line a 12 hole tin with muffin cases
  • In a jug mix the eggs, yoghurt, oil, apple, banana, honey and vanilla. Pour the rest of the ingredients, except for the mixed seeds, into a bowl and combine.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir. But do not over mix as it can make the muffins become quite dense and heavy.
  • Divide the batter between the cases and sprinkle over the seeds and a handful of extra oats.
  • Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes, or until golden. Remove from the oven, transfer the muffins onto a wire rack and leave to cool. Enjoy with a cuppa!!
IMG_4889

YUM!

