Peter Sidwell’s Nutella Cookies

Cookie stacking

Cookie stacking

If you’ve checked out my previous post then you will know that last month I had the pleasure of working at Malton Food Lovers Festival. I spent the entire weekend ‘oohing’ and ‘aahing’ over different recipes, and lingering in the shadows of many a great chef, giddy with excitement like a little school girl. One of my responsibilities for the weekend was to prepare recipes for the food demonstrations; to chop when chopped parsley was necessary, to weigh out this, and mix up that. Although I prepared a lot of different recipes for the demonstrations, I only got to complete two myself, both of which were for Peter Sidwell: a Porter Cake and a batch of Nutella Cookies. I had to bake off and box up the cookies so that Peter could bring them out during the demo, in a rather Blue Peter-like moment, claiming ‘here are some I made earlier’. I knew they were going to be delicious before they even came out of the oven, as about 5 minutes into the bake the cooking school filled with a warm, nutty, chocolatey scent which just melted our senses. Of course I couldn’t box them up before testing one out myself (sorry Peter!). Crisp on the outside, soft in the middle. Rich, intense, chocolate followed by melted waves of hazelnut. To say they were moreish would be an understatement. I could’ve eaten all ten! I would’ve struggled, and inevitably hated myself for doing so, but I could’ve done it.

When I returned home from the festival I just knew I had to bake off a batch and share the recipe on here. People need to know of their deliciousness. Moreover, people need to know how easy they are to make, and how adaptable the recipe can be! The recipe at the festival included sour cherries, but sadly I couldn’t get my hands on any, so Instead I added nuts. But you could use orange zest and bake a more Terry’s Chocolate Orange type cookie. Or add some fudge pieces, or white chocolate chips, or salted caramels, or dried raspberries. The possibilities are truly endless.

The recipe makes at least ten cookies. I made them particularly large, and also left them quite thick so they would have the crisper outside and softer, chewy centre. But do adjust the if need be, bearing in mind they will cook slightly quicker if they are quite small.

Couldn't resist

Couldn’t resist

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 x 400g jar of Nutella
  • 1 medium egg
  • 150g of plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp of bicarb
  • approx 75g of chocolate chips
  • approx 75g of chopped hazelnuts (or any nut of your choosing)

METHOD:

  • Preheat the oven at 160.
  • In a bowl mix together the Nutella and the egg, until a smooth paste forms. Add the flour and bicarb, and mix well before combining the chocolate chips and chopped nuts (or whatever you choose to add for flavour).
  • Gather the cookie dough into a ball. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the cookies to your chosen depth and then cut into shapes using a cookie cutter. Alternatively you could choose to separate the dough into ten balls, and then flatten them out by hand.
  • Place the cookies on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 12-13 minutes. For crunchier cookies leave them to cook for 3-4 minutes longer.
  • Devour them as soon as they are cool enough to handle. Don’t forget to dunk them in milk.

IMG_0191

